Sifting through the ashes of my scorched and broken heart.......

Trying to figure out this pain..........

In agony I reach out to him, but he's no longer there..............

THEN I HEAR, COME UNTO ME, AND I WILL GIVE YOU REST...........................

 

A lifetime of experience could not have prepared me for this......

The isolation and the intense loneliness that steadily grows......

In a whirlwind of anger, in reaction to this, walls go up..........

SOFTLY YOU SAY, COME UNTO ME, AND I WILL GIVE YOU REST..................

 

I have wept, I have mourned, Dear Lord help me to understand.....

Are we just sojourners here going on a ride.......

As I lapse in and out of communion with you.....

STILL YOU CRY, COME UNTO ME, AND I WILL GIVE YOU REST......................

 

As I sit before you broken, my burdens now at your feet......

It was your constant gentle knocking on my heart.....

That pulled me out and ushered me again by you....

WHEN I FINALLY HEARD, COME UNTO ME, AND I WILL GIVE YOU REST........

 

In a world of lost and helpless souls, only one has the key....

My pains in comparison to theirs pale.......

For they do not know you eagerly wait for them.........

WILL THEY EVER HEAR, COME UNTO ME, AND I WILL GIVE YOU REST.........

 

© Wendy Poole

5-19-98
